CARROT PULP BURGERS WITH A SECRET INGREDIENT

IMG_5571

Sarah, who blogs at My New Roots posted this recipe awhile back for a bread made with psyllium husk.  Which I saw about a million times on Pinterest.  She titled it ‘The life-changing loaf of bread”, so after checking it out I tried a rough version of her recipe.  The bread was totally gluten-free and made without flour, and super dense.  I’m not a huge fan of psyllium but I was intrigued by her use of it as a binder.  So I made the bread and it was everything she promised it to be, life-changing.  Well, kinda.  While it was super delicious and nutty, it was so rich and tasty I couldn’t stop eating it.  Fresh baked bread from the oven with a pat of coconut oil?  Yum.  I decided though that I probably wouldn’t make it again just because it didn’t last long in our 2 person house.  However, the idea of using psyllium as a binder stuck in my head and I’ve gone through a few different variations of her bread in my notebook using zucchini or carrot to lighten it up a bit.  Though I never made any of them.  Till now.  And it’s not bread.  I decided to try her binder method for a veggie burger patty made with carrot pulp.

IMG_5543

IMG_5548

IMG_5550

IMG_5554

But here’s the lame part.  I have my recipe, and I tried it- look, pictures.  Before baking, John and I were crazy hungry so we decided we should just fry up a couple of the patties and have a quick burger before we bake them and freeze.  Well, while they were tasty, they needed something more in there, they were just too soft.  Don’t worry though, we ate them.

IMG_5564

IMG_5568

IMG_5570

IMG_5573

I figured they would firm up after a quick bake and I could review them again at that point.  No such luck.  I forgot about them in the oven and they are now very, very firm.  Rock hard.  Anyways, Ill try this recipe again sometime when I am smart enough to use an alarm. But, if you approach this method with the psyllium, let me know how it went!

IMG_5631

Leave a Reply

