SPICED DATE CASHEW MILK

IMG_5880

For about a couple of months now ive stopped drinking coffee.  Which kills me because I adore coffee and am somewhat of a coffee snob.  However, being prone to anxiety and  lacking sleep I decided it probably would be a good idea to give the stuff up.  What else kills me, if I want an almond milk latte I would have to ask for decaf!  Since I fell in love with coffee I’ve talked so much shit on decaf, and now im forced to drink it?  No, I refuse order decaf in public.  So I’ve been drinking LOTS of tea lately and if I’m out, an almond milk chai hits the spot.  If your ever visiting Santa Barbara, Handlebar coffee makes the best one in town!

IMG_5869

Anyways, this drink isn’t a chai, but it is reminiscent of a good spicy chai.  The ginger and spices are warming and the cashews so creamy, which makes it a lovely drink on a rainy or cold day. This drink would be equally delicious blended up and then warmed on the stove, but I served mine at room temperature just a little warm from the blender.

IMG_5865

for the milk

  • 1/2 c. cashews, soaked 2 hours
  • 4 medjool dates or 7 deglet noor dates
  • 1/2 ounce ginger juice
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 t.  vanilla extract

to garnish

  • fresh cracked black pepper
  • pinch of cayenne

IMG_5879

The cracked pepper and cayenne really make the drink.  I wasnt initially planning on the garnishes but last minute I decided to switch from a dusting of cinnamon to something bolder.  It was a good call, after first sip John and I were hooked.

IMG_5881

If you make homemade almond or cashew milk regularly, this would be a good option if you were looking to mix things up.  I bet if you blended the cayenne into the milk, it would be awesome over a chocolate-y (vegan) cereal!

Do you make homemade nut milk?  Whats your favorite variation?

IMG_5890

Leave a Reply

