JUICY WATERMELON AND VEGAN-FETA SALAD

IMG_5790

IMG_5834

I wasnt sure what to expect from this salad.  A long time ago I created a recipe for tofu feta, which I posted here.  So with that around, I figured I would give this watermelon salad a go.  I had no idea what to expect but I’ve been seeing feta and watermelon salads plastered all over the internet, so finally I went for it.

IMG_5801

IMG_5800

serves 2

for the salad

  • 3 small cucumbers, sliced
  • 1/2 watermelon, large dice
  • 1/4 c. red onion, sliced in half rings
  • 3 spears hearts of palm, chopped
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • juice from 1/2 lemon or lime
  • pinch of salt

topping

  • 1/2 c. tofu feta

IMG_5802

Toss all salad ingredients in a bowl with olive oil and lime until throughly mixed.  Transfer to plates and top with the tofu feta.

IMG_5818

IMG_5821

This salad was seriously delicious, so much that both John and I were speechless while eating.  It was sweet (but not too sweet) and savory, with a whole lotta freshness and crunch!  The flavors melded together perfectly and neither of us were expecting this dish to be THAT good.

IMG_5825

I have no idea what the actual feta and watermelon salads taste like, but vegans- don’t feel left out.  While I’ve never had the real thing (nor do I plan to) I’m just gonna go ahead and say this version is better.  Better for your health, the environment, and for the animals.  Oh yeah, and your taste buds!  That too!  If your thinking fruity salads aren’t your thing, just try this.  I despise fruit in salad but this made me a believer.  I can’t wait to make it again.

IMG_5833
IMG_5839
IMG_5840
Leave a Reply

