THAI GREYHOUND TWIST

IMG_5811

I’ve been thinking it’s about time for a cocktail recipe on here, so I thought I would start with a favorite.  The Greyhound.  If you love grapefruit this is your drink, but while the traditional Greyhound is perfectly fine I wanted to make a twist on it.  I added ginger, lime and basil to liven up the flavors a bit.  They are Thai food staples and incredibly tasty together.  I thought about adding chili, but stopped myself before I went too far.

IMG_5842

IMG_5843

my friends all say this looks like a bunch of vaginas, whatever.

This would seriously be just as tasty if it were juice, actually probably more tasty, since you’d have more.. juice.  Anyways, it’s awesome.  You get just a hint of basil through the tart, and as for the maple syrup- while you cannot taste a sweetness at all, it mellows out all of the flavors.  It’s the ultimate savory cocktail.  Make it for someone you think is cool, that’s what I did and he (and I) enjoyed it greatly.  To quote John, “this is so fucking good”.  If that’s not all you need to hear than I have nothing left for you.

Next time, maybe.

for the cocktail

  • 4 grapefruits, juiced or hand squeezed (I did the latter)
  • 1/2 lime
  • 4 leaves of basil
  • 1/2 shot ginger juice
  • 1/2 shot real maple syrup or agave
  • 1.5 shots vodka
  • Ice

to garnish

  • 2 slices of lime
  • 2 slices of grapefruit
  • 2 basil leaves
  • Salt

To make the cocktail combine the lime juice, ginger juice, and basil leaves in a shaker or a mason jar with lid.  Using a muddler (or the back of a knife) muddle the basil in the liquid.  Next add the rest of the ingredients and shake.

IMG_5846

Prep your martini glass (or any kind of glass, it doesn’t matter) by either licking the rim and dipping in salt, or if you don’t swap spit, use a lime.  The salt isn’t totally necessary but it’s a nice addition as it really cuts through the tartness.  Layer the slice of grapefruit with the basil leaf and lime.  Next pour in that delicious nectar of the gods.  If you have company expect some oohs and aahs because this is one fancy cocktail.

IMG_5852

Also, please note the improvement in my food photography skills and effort.  Seriously guys, I’m trying.  Have a lovely buzzed day!

IMG_5862

Leave a Reply

