RAW VEGAN CARROT CAKE

IMG_5464

I have been wanting to make a raw vegan carrot cake for quite sometime now, and now that I have a juicer I decided it was time.  Carrot pulp is awesome,  you can throw it in most anything and its going to turn out delicious.  It’s still sweet even though most of the juice is gone.  I love it, and before I had a juicer I would often either bring home the pulp leftover from my work, or just ask juice places if they have any I could grab.  It worked for me once.  Anyways, go make your cake.  Its delicious.

IMG_5462

for the frosting

  • 1 c. soaked cashews (2-6 hours)
  • 5 dates
  • 1 t. vanilla

blend till smooth in a high-powered blender, or if you don’t have a high-powered blender you can add a small amount of hot water to help facilitate blending.  Because the frosting will be thicker it will probably take a few rounds of scraping down the sides of the blender and stirring it up before its ready.  Once smooth, set your frosting aside in the freezer to cool down.

IMG_5463

IMG_5445

IMG_5466

for the cake

  • 1.5 c. walnuts
  • 1 c. shredded unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 5 dates, pitted
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • dash of salt
  • 1.5 c. carrot pulp (or grated carrot)
  • 1 t. cinnamon

using your food processor, pulse everything until it’s a little crumbly, but not too mushy.  Line a loaf pan with parchment paper and gently press your cake mix into the bottom of the pan.  Put your cake in the fridge while you get to work on whipping your frosting.

IMG_5454

IMG_5453

I wasn’t totally sure if it would work to whip a raw frosting but it didn’t turn out to bad!  Not as fluffy as I would have liked but definitely a little more airy than it was before.  I whipped my frosting for probably 10 minutes, though I don’t remember and I didn’t time myself.  Whenever it looks good to you your good to go!  I also went out and bought a little cake decorating thing to try my hand at some fancy designs.  I think they ended up pretty weak but I’ll give it a go another time.

IMG_5450

IMG_5449          IMG_5465

IMG_5467

5 thoughts on “RAW VEGAN CARROT CAKE

Leave a Reply

