Raw Vegan Mocha Cheesecake

IMG_5334

Ok, so this is not a 100% raw cheesecake because my cocoa powder is probably not raw (it’s from Trader Joe’s) and my hazelnuts were toasted.  Toasted hazelnuts are much tastier than raw hazelnuts.  Well call raw hazelnuts filberts and toasted hazelnuts hazelnuts.  Anyways, if you can get over that then this cheesecake is awesome and kinda incredible.  John and I went slowly with the first one but went to town on the second and as a result felt pretty uncomfortably full.  I won’t lie, my stomach was killing me.  If you make this and only eat a normal portion I can guarantee no stomach ache!

IMG_5349

I was only planning on making one small cheesecake but I ended up with so much that I was able to make two!  I used a 5″ ramekin and lined the bottom and edges with plastic wrap, as you can probably tell by my photos.  The presentation sorta bites but this thing was so good and so, so creamy.  Because I used toasted hazelnuts in the crust the flavor was like a mocha made with Nutella, which I’ve never had but can only imagine it would be amazing.

IMG_5352

Raw Mocha Cheesecake

for the crust:

3 date rolls, or you could substitute 4 medjool dates (i like the date rolls because they are cheaper and you get more date paste outta them!  Also possibly not 100% raw!)

1/2 c. hazelnuts

2 T. cocoa powder

1 T. coconut oil

1 T. sunflower seed butter

I processed these ingredients using my food processor until it was clumping up, sort of similar to the texture of a Larabar.  I used my hands to press the ‘dough’ firmly to the bottom of the ramekins.

For the chocolate cream layer:

3 T. cocoa powder

3 date rolls

1 T. coconut oil

1 c. soaked cashews <–soaking is essential to get this super creamy.  Usually soak about 6-8 hours.

a pinch of salt

IMG_5452

For this I used my vita-mix blender, which is super high-speed and awesome but if you have a regular blender it will do just fine!  If you are going to use a regular blender just make sure your cashews are soaked a bit longer and use a spatula to clear the edges and make sure everything gets blended throughly.  Pour this over the crust layer of your ramekins and smooth with a spoon or spatula.  Leave in the freezer for 10 minutes or so to set before pouring over the final layer.

IMG_5465

For the espresso cream:

1 double shot of espresso

2 date rolls

1 T. coconut oil

1 c. soaked cashews

IMG_5508

Blend this just as you did the chocolate layer.  I went light on the dates because it’s coffee and that made sense to me. Pour over the chocolate layer and smooth with a spoon or spatula.  Leave it in the freezer for about an hour and then let it thaw 15 minutes before serving.  You could just refrigerate it overnight so it would set but I’m impatient and you probably are too so go ahead and do the freezer method, you’ll be happy you did while your eating your cheesecake

 IMG_5345     .

Leave a Reply

