Raw vegan caesar salad

I work at a kinda-vegetarian cafe here in Santa Barbara, where we have a pretty tasty vegan caesar salad if you hold the cheese. I don’t really care for croutons so I leave those off as well and usually mix in some extra steamed vegetables and avocado.  Its quite delicious.

I go on and off experimenting and enjoying raw foods, but have always wanted to try my hand at a raw vegan caesar salad.  The first attempt, while delicious, was not the caesar I had envisioned.  I made the trip out to trader joes to quickly grab some romaine and hearts of palm for my salad- not traditional, but a lovely addition- and while there contemplated buying the cashews I would need for my salad dressing.  I was positive I had everything I needed and got my salad base and left.  Unfortunately I didn’t have anything I needed to create a caesar dressing like I had planned so I opted for a different but similar creamy vegan dressing.  This consisted of roasted hazelnuts, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, olive oil, dulse, ACV, mustard and water.  While it wasn’t caesar it was tasty, but I didn’t write down my proportions.  My next caesar attempt was far more successful.

IMG_5310

For the dressing:

2 T nooch

1 c. soaked cashews

1 t. salt

1 t. dulse

2 T. apple cider vinegar

1 t. maple syrup

1 T. miso

IMG_5314

I would have rather used lemon juice than the apple cider vinegar but I didn’t have any so I opted for the ACV.  You can choose to use kelp powder in place of the dulse flakes, but you’ll want to choose one of those options to get an ocean-y taste, or fishy if you want to be gross about it.

IMG_5317

 

To make the salad extra special I made ‘parmesan’ crisps, which you could make raw if you had a dehydrator but I don’t so I used the oven.

For the crisps:

1 T. coconut oil

1 c. soaked cashews

1/2 c. nutritional yeast

I blended the ingredients until they were smooth then spread it as thin as I could over some parchment paper and threw ’em in the oven for about 20 minutes.  My cat really likes these as well, which makes me think that maybe cats like nutritional yeast- but mine is super picky and kind of a jerk a lot of the time.  Her eating something I made totally gave me that warm motherly feeling I imagine mothers get.

IMG_5320

IMG_5311 

Oof, thats some bad lighting.  I promise Ill try to remember to work on it.

Leave a Reply

